All about the Indian General Election 2019

Indian General Election (Lok Sabha) 2019

Indian general election 2019 at present is being taken place in seven stages, which has been scheduled to be occurring in between 11th April and 19 May of 2019. This will make the 17th Loka Sabha election. The process of counting of votes is going to occur on 23rd May. Results will be declared on the same day itself. Around 900 million citizens of India are going to be eligible for voting in any of the seven phases, by the constituency they belong to. The states like Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, and Sikkim will be conducting their legislative assembly election as well in concurrence with the Loka Sabha general election.

Entire 543 elected MPs are going to be elected from one member constituencies through the
first-past-the-post voting. President of India makes a nomination of the other couple of members from the Anglo-Indian community, however, if he considers that the community is not properly presented.


It is essential for the citizens to be at least 18 years to be the eligible voters. He or she should
be the resident of the concerned constituency, and it is essential for him or her to have an authentic ID card provided by the Election Commission of India. People those are convicted of electoral and other convictions are disqualified from voting.

It was speculated earlier that the current Modi Government might go forward with the general election of 2019 to confront the anti-incumbency issue, but, it is said that their experts cited the example of making the election earlier by the Vajpayee Government, which made Modi government to decide about doing it as per the schedule.

Process of voting

The Election Commission of India declared about the occurrence of the election on 10th March 2019.

Model Code of Conduct was applied immediately after that post announcement of the election. VVPAT or the voter-verified paper audit trail mode that makes EVM (electronic voting machine) record every vote cast by creating the EVM sheet is going to be made available in the entire 543 Lok Sabha constituencies.

A sum of 17.4 lakh VVPAT along with the 39.6 lakh EVMs will be employed in more than 10,34,918 polling booths for the process of election. Supreme Court of India on 9th April ordered Election Commission to increase the VVPAT slips voting number to five specific EVMs, by the constituency assembly. This means that the Election Commission of India has to make a count of the VVPAT slips of 20,625 EVMs.

It is true that the functioning of tallying the EVM outcomes with the paper slips occurring in different assembly elections, this is the opening occasions it is going to be conducted in Lok Sabha polls as well.

Bharatiya Janata Party or BJP, which is currently in power, will be defending its government, having Indian National Congress as the prime opposition. However, a coalition of various other parties called the ‘Mahagathbandhan’ is also speculated to be playing the prime role in the upcoming election.

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
0 %
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x